Incredible.The End.


Today was amazing.

Today was one of the best days of my entire life. Well first, I got my car inspected. I don’t know why getting my car inspected was so important but driving into the DMV for the first time since I got my license, made me realized I accomplished so much in the past 2 years. I faced fears I never thought I would ever be able to. I looked around and saw the a few driving school companies going to into the “driving test” section  and  I thought about all the struggles I went through to get my license, all the tears I shed and the defeat I felt when I failed not just once…but twice.

I don’t usually go to Starbucks. But today, I was in the mood to be “hipster-like”. Just like I expected, the coffee was shittier then shitty. I pulled in a random parking lot in Red Bank and didn’t put any money in the meter; I wasn’t going to be too long. I had plans to see someone. As I walked out into the warm sun of the day, I decided I would to go see Vinnie at Love Lace Tuxedo Shop that was a few doors down. Vinnie was the owner; he was the father figure in my “second family”. He gave me a tour of his shop. I didn’t realize that the tuxedo business was much more complex than I thought it was. All the suits were so crisp and pressed to perfection. Since I knew Vinnie well, I knew that was all his doing. You can eat off the floor of his car. It’s hilarious.

For lunch, I went to the Broadway Diner. I didn’t feel asking anyone to come along with me. I didn’t feel like waiting for someone to show up, or wake up in that matter. As I walked in to the crowded diner, I felt like I wasn’t alone. The waitresses in their hideous hott pink button up shirts greeted me with kind smiles. As I looked at the menu quickly, they kept staring at me impatiently, As if  they already knew what I was going to get. I ordered a chicken ceaser salad. It’s the best thing they have. Everything is good there but the ceaser salad is the best. When they went to put in my order, I opened the book I brought with me and attempted to concentrate on the words instead of all the commotion around me. I looked up and saw a woman with tattoos on her chest. It looked like she was trying to cover them up, but I knew she didn’t want to. I never want to cover mine. Tattoos define a person. They make someone have character, individuality.

As I turned the page of the book, I found a blank piece of loose leaf paper. Lost without a pen, I asked the hostess for a pen, hoping she had one, the creativeness was bubbling out of me. She gave me this pen with a duct tape flower on top (you could tell it was homemade) I thought it was pretty cool. I quickly wrote down everything that was going on in my brain so I wouldn’t mentally throw up. It seemed like everything became quiet. I was so deep inside my brain I didn’t realize my food was staring at me, waiting for me. The growling of my stomach pulled me out of my creative unconsciousness. I looked at the food and subconsciously jumped back into the loose leaf as I tried so hard to stop dry heaving creative energy so I could actually enjoy my lunch in peace. As much as I tried, I couldn’t stop writing. Thank god it was already a cold dish. If it wasn’t, it would have been ruined.

Before leaving, I talked to my waitress. She was really inspiring. She was curious about what I was doing. I told her I was a writer. It is an amazing feeling when you define yourself as a writer. She told me I was more than welcome to go there to write anytime, and I didn’t really have to buy anything. I know I will be back there very very very soon. It’s a 24 hour diner. I think I will be making some 2 am trips in the near future.

After lunch, I made my way to GreenTree Apartments. A place that holds so many of my secrets. A man, who at one time at my life I thought I couldn’t live without, lived there. After telling him I came back from AWP, He couldn’t wait to hear about it. I was surprised with his enthusiasm. I didn’t think he really cared about my life or me in that matter. Once I got there, he greeted me wearing the familiar Christmas pajama pants he always wore and the Kevin Garnett shirt I bought him for Christmas. I smiled internally, thinking he may have thought of me when he put it on the night before. I ran up the rickety stairs with a few books and tons of paperwork in my hand to show him. I couldn’t wait to reminisce once again. Every time I tell someone I always go back to the moments of the trip that I loved and even the ones I didn’t so much care for. The experience as a whole was awesome so the little stupid homesick moments were ignored in my head.

He seemed to be really interested in the information I brought to him. He wasn’t as enthusiastic as I was, but I knew he felt around the same way I was feeling. As we started to talk about writing, I felt like in his eyes, I had grown up yet again. For the first time he told me he was proud of me. Coming from him in reality it wouldn’t be a big deal. But at that moment, it was a turning point in my life; as stupid as that sounds. When someone shows you their writing, it’s like they are giving you a little baby, almost fetus size portion of their heart. I read his short story newly named an An Unconscious Trance.I felt like I was seeing a new side of the man I thought I knew so well. I was unexpectantly, pleasantly surprised. I thought his writing was going to be like the way he thought. (getting laid,making money,sports,wreastling,and skinny bitches) but it was completely the opposite. Every word on the page had a deeper meaning. He was making references that I personally didn’t understand (because I’m not an old man) but I didn’t let him know that. It didn’t take away from the piece at all, so I didn’t care.

After about an hour or two of talking about writing and other things I got into the car that I always try so hard to not scan the parking lot for, every time I drive by Applebee’s. When we passed Applebee’s on our way to Barnes and Nobles, I scanned the parking lot anyway. It was silly of me, but I guess I am just used to it. He couldn’t of been working because he was sitting right next to me. I listened to what was supposed to “deviant music” but in reality it was just some dudes rapping about the WWF and with the bass cranked up the max as we drove down thirty five. It wasn’t as deviant as I thought it was going to be, but I wasn’t going to tell him he was a loser. He was just a thirteen year old boy in his head. Looking out the window, I never realized how beautiful my town was and how much it had changed since became a driver.

Today was beautiful, Life is wonderful. For the first time in my life I can say my life is FUCKING awesome. and not just plain old awesome. 2012 sucked in the beginning, I guess god is finally showing me now he exists.

I will have more for Tomorrow… Kegs and Eggs tomorrow, Let the drinking begin.

xo Sarah

Lemme know what you think :)

