Broken Blood Line


Our veins crossed

Like backroads in a small town.

Blood flowed through us

Like a water slide

You would hold my shoulders tightly,

Squeezing your eyes shut as we flew.

Our heartbeat harmonized

Like the Queen songs

We sang to when we were 17.

Our fingerprints matched

Like our clothes did

Every Christmas

For the first 5 years of our lives.

Today we don’t match

You lay in a box

With your hands folded

Across your chest.

You have a grin on your face

As if you are telling me not to cry

To not be sad that you’re gone

But half of me is lying in a box

Pretending to be sleeping

And I can’t wake me up.

 

 

I could never be a twin.

sarah,

Lemme know what you think :)

