Beautiful Girl.


 

I watch the men and women

People I knew

People I loved

Black dresses, suits

Emerging into all doors

The clicking of high heels

Echo the empty church

We are waiting

for her

The organ begins to play

An hour glass of time

Till we will see her

Men weeping for a woman

Who touched the young, old

And me, we watch

As she is glides

in a shiny oak casket

Towards the man who she had always loved

Even though he took her only son

The perfume of flowers

Engulf our sense

As our priest

Blankets her in frankincense

Blessing her

And wishing her a safe trip

I watch her daughter

My friend

Stand at a podium

Telling the world how wonderful her mother is

Was

And me thinking

“thank god it wasn’t mine”

salt from my eyes

Slip into my mouth

I look at her

Tearless,

she smiles down

At the mother she once hugged

Once kissed

And says

“I will make you proud mom”

RIP Yvonne Mckay 12/2007

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Girl.

  1. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much
    more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.

    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

    • sarahviveca says:

      I actually did it myself. It wasn’t very hard. Used a pre made theme and kind of worked off from there. Thank you so much. I’ve tried to change it a few times but it never looks right. thanks again :)

Lemme know what you think :)

