Behind the Closed Door


He told me not to do it

But I wrapped my fingers around the doorknob

He said no, I don’t want

You to see me

Like

this.

He told me not to do it

But I wrapped my fingers around the doorknob

Because I wanted to see what

He’d do to me

If he found

Out why.

He told me not to do it

But I wrapped my fingers around the doorknob

Because I never listened

I say,

I don’t care what you look

Like.

It’s been years Jared,

Please.

I won’t judge you, you know

That.

He told me not to do it

But I wrapped my fingers around the doorknob

Because I respected him, not only as a person

But also as a friend

I say you aren’t in Iraq

So don’t be worried

Then I let go

He whimpers on the other side

Of the door, but I haven’t walked away

yet.

But I slide down the door

Waiting

For him

To call out

And willing to wait

Is worth it

And I will wait,

Will you?

Inspired by the poem BlueBird By Charles Bukowski

Here’s the link if you want to check it out

http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/bluebird/

Thank you Adele for getting me through this long night.

7 thoughts on “Behind the Closed Door

Lemme know what you think :)

